Our methods

What we use, what we' re passionate about.

woman wearing virtual reality goggles

XR

Unity

Virtual Reality (VR) and Augmented Reality (AR) are being used in an increasing number of research and development processes. The high flexibility of these technologies makes them a valuable and versatile tool in the field of rapid prototyping and thus allows user-centered design aspects to be integrated into the development process at an early stage. We use Unity to bring your products to life for your potential users from the very first design concepts. Usability weaknesses can thus be identified and eliminated proactively. We draw on many years of experience in the creation of virtual content for both VR and AR applications. Depending on your needs and research projects, different display technologies can be used. Simple AR and VR applications can be realized on standard smartphones. The use of AR and VR glasses provides additional interaction possibilities.

Usability Engineering

Hard- und Software

Initial user flows and basic dialog design are generally done with pen and paper. This applies to sophisticated digital user interfaces as well as realistic hardware prototypes.

Further implementation then takes place with the close involvement of users. This often happens after initial user tests or feedback sessions with the developed paper prototypes. In the further course of development, we use a wide range of tools that are selected according to the requirements of the specific task. In the past, for example, we developed a novel control concept for cranes, initially in virtual reality and later also as a functional hardware prototype.

wireframing
image of a frontend design

Frontend Development

Adobe Suite, Figma, CSS

In addition to scientific expertise, we offer hands-on implementations, not only for study implementation, but also for production environments.

Especially in the areas of UI/UX design, our years of experience with the design of interactive human-machine interfaces come into play, so that we can develop a front-end without lengthy studies and large sample sizes.

Backend Development

JS, Firebase, MongoDB

Consulting on, as well as conception and implementation of suitable architectures in the background of various (web) applications is also part of our program.

Using the latest web-based technologies, we ensure that all data goes where it belongs - and nowhere else. Through relational databases and server-side and client-side programming, we can ensure seamless user interaction, and with it, a consistently positive user experience. After all, even the best UX fails because of lost packets, excessive load times, or insufficient data storage.

Open Science

We support Open Science and can show you how your research project can benefit from it.

Webtechnologies

In a digital world, gaining knowledge is not limited to laboratory experiments. We would be pleased to work with you to implement an online research project.

sample statistics

Responsible research

Ethics

In the field of human factor engineering, the human being is the focus and thus a central part of experiments. We ensure experiments according to ethical guidelines and provide support in obtaining approval from an ethics committee.

Data Analysis

Python and R

We have a wide range of statistical methods at our disposal for the evaluation of quantitative data. In addition to descriptive methods, depending on the research question and data, we apply null hypothesis tests (significance tests and mixed linear models) or Bayesian evaluation techniques.

Ideally, the evaluation methods are already defined before the data collection. This allows you to get an up-to-date picture of your experiment at any time. Following an experiment, we extend the evaluation with further, explorative approaches.

Unsere Methoden

Was wir nutzen, was uns begeistert.

woman wearing virtual reality goggles

XR

Unity

Virtual Reality (VR) und Augmented Reality (AR) findet in immer mehr Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprozessen Anwendung. Die hohe Flexibilität dieser Technologien macht sie zu einem wertvollen und vielseitigen Werkzeug im Bereich Rapid Prototyping und ermöglichen es somit nutzerzentrierte Gestaltungsaspekte bereits früh in den Entwicklungsprozess einzubinden. Wir nutzen Unity, um eure Produkte ab den ersten Designkonzepten für eure potenziellen Nutzer erlebbar zu machen. Usability-Schwachstellen lassen sich somit präventiv identifizieren und beheben. Dabei greifen wir auf eine langjährige Erfahrung in der Erstellung virtueller Inhalte sowohl für VR als auch für AR Anwendungen zurück. Individuell nach euren Bedürfnissen und Forschungsvorhaben, können unterschiedliche Anzeigetechnologien zum Einsatz kommen. Einfache AR und VR Anwendungen lassen sich bereits auf handelsüblichen Smartphones umsetzen. Die Verwendung von AR und VR Brillen liefert darüber hinaus zusätzliche Interaktionsmöglichkeiten.

Usability Engineering

Hard- und Software

Initiale User-Flows sowie grundsätzliche Dialoggestaltung passiert bei uns generell mit Stift und Papier. Dies gilt sowohl für anspruchsvolle, digitale Nutzerschnittstellen, als auch realitätsnahe Hardwareprototypen.

Die weitere Umsetzung erfolgt anschließend unter enger Einbeziehung der Nutzer. Oftmals geschieht dies nach ersten Nutzertests oder Feedbackrunden mit den entwickelten Papierprototypen. Im weiteren Verlauf der Entwicklung nutzen wir vielfältige Tools, die je nach den Anforderungen der spezifischen Aufgabe gewählt werden. In der Vergangenheit entwickelten wir beispielsweise ein neuartiges Steuerungskonzept für Krane, zunächst in der virtuellen Realität, später auch als funktionaler Hardwareprototyp.

wireframing
image of a frontend design

Frontend Entwicklung

Adobe Suite, Figma, CSS

Neben wissenschaftlicher Expertise bieten wir konkrete Implementationen, nicht nur zur Studienumsetzung, sondern ebenso für Produktivumgebungen.

Gerade in den Bereichen UI/UX Design kommt unsere Jahrelange Erfahrung mit der Gestaltung interaktiver Mensch-Maschine Schnittstellen zum tragen, sodass wir euch bereits ohne langwierige Probandenstudien ein Front-End mit dem Mensch im Zentrum entwickeln können.

Backend Entwicklung

JS, Firebase, MongoDB

Die Beratung zu, sowie Konzeption und Implementierung von passenden Architekturen im Hintergrund diverser (Web-) Applikationen gehört ebenso zu unserem Programm.

Mittels modernster, web-basierter Technologien stellen wir sicher, dass alle Daten dort hingelangen wo sie hingehören - und nirgendwo anders. Durch relationale Datenbanken sowie server- und clientseitige Programmierung können wir nahtlose Nutzerinteraktion, und damit einhergehend ein durchgehend positives Nutzererlebnis gewährleisten. Denn selbst die beste UX scheitert an verlorenen Paketen, übermäßigen Ladezeiten, oder unzureichender Datenhaltung.

Open Science

Wir unterstützen Open Science und zeigen euch auf Wunsch, wie auch euer Forschungsvorhaben davon profitieren kann.

Webtechnologien

In einer digitalen Welt beschränkt sich Erkenntnissgewinn nicht auf Laborversuche. Gerne setzen wir mit euch eine online Datenerhebung um.

sample statistics

Verantwortungsvolles Forschen

Ethik

Im Bereich des Human Factor Engineerings steht der Mensch im Mittelpunkt und ist damit zentraler Teil von Experimenten. Wir stellen Versuche nach ethischen Richtlinien sicher und unterstützen bei der Einholung eines Ethikvotums.

Datenauswertung

Python und R

Wir verfügen über ein breites Spektrum statistischer Methoden zur Auswertung quantitativer Daten. Neben deskriptiven Methoden werden je nach Forschungsfrage und Datenlage Null-Hypothesen Tests (Signifikanztests und gemischt lineare Modelle) oder Bayessche Auswertungstechniken verwendet.

Idealerweise sind die Auswertungsmethoden bereits vor der Datenerhebung definiert. Dadurch könnt ihr euch jederzeit ein aktuelles Bild eures Versuchs ausgeben lassen. Im Anschluss an ein Experiment ergänzen wir die Auswertung mit weiteren, explorativen Ansätzen.